Yesterday I was vulnerable,
Today I am weak,
But tomorrow I will be stronger,
And the day after I will be invincible,
For, I must.

My quarrel is never with anybody else,
My victory is never over anyone else,
My grief is never about anyone else,
My anger is never towards anyone else,
Never has, have been these at anytime else.
Only that I’ve discovered it now,
In my heart and pulse,
As, I must.

Everyday I conquer a very little bit of myself,
Every now and then I do trip myself,
But every often time I pick and pull myself up,
Seldom times do I bite the dust,
And when I do, I swallow the dust,
As I must.

For, I believe, I will have to shoulder burdens
Far more heavy,
Far more pressing,
Than I have ever known
To this, I must
Swallow the grief,
Swallow the rage,
Swallow the sulk,
And Swallow all other bulk
As I must swallow the dust,
As I must.

Don’t ask me why
Because all I know is
It’s a must, I can’t shy,
It’s the who, I define,
I ain’t alive when, this, I defy,
And Yes, it is a must
That I must.